Breaking News
Tuesday, 20 July 2010

JKLF UK Zone Held its Convention, Mahmood Hussain elected its President

JKLF (UK Zone) Convention
Nottingham (19th July 2010)
Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF) UK Zone held its convention in Nottingham on Sunday 18th July 2010 in which a new Zonal body was elected for the next 3-5 year term. Senior JKLF leader in UK Mahmood Hussain was unanimously elected its President and Tehseen Gilani as General Secretary.  

The convention was attended by hundreds of JKLF delegates from across the United Kingdom, prominent British Parliamentarians, councillors and other distinguished guests from various political backgrounds.  The outgoing General Secretary and President presented a comprehensive report about the three year performance of JKLF UK Zone followed by elections of the Zonal executive body. Senior JKLF leader from Sheffield and election commissioner Prof. Abdul Assim conducted the elections and also took oath from the newly elected body.

The new elected office bearers of JKLF UK Zone are
·        Mahmood Hussain (London) President
·        Chaudhry Iqbal (Bedford)                 Senior Vice President
·        Rasib Kashmiri (Peterborough)          Vice President
·        Syed Tehseen Gilani (Luton)  General Secretary
·        Ali Asghar (Nottingham)                    Organiser
·        Khawaja Gulfaraz (Sheffield) Joint Secretary
·        Mohammad Rafiq (Bedford) Treasurer
·        Khawaja Kabir Ahmed (Leeds)        Press Secretary

Four members of the Executive Committee were also elected
  • Mahmood Faiz (London)
  • Zahid Qureshi (Birmingham)
  • Javed Tahir (Peterborough)
  • Mohammed Iqbal (Manchester)
The remaining three members of the executive committee will be elected in the first executive meeting due next month.

Immediately after the successful convention, a large public meeting took place in which senior JKLF leaders addressed the gathering and various other speakers including local MP’s, councillors, prominent public figures and representatives from various Kashmir and other organisations spoke on this occasion.

Speaking on this occasion prominent British Peer Lord Nazir Ahmed congratulated the newly elected body of UK Zone He condemned the human rights violations and recent killings of Kashmiri youth by Indian armed forces in Kashmir. He said India must stop human rights abuses in Kashmir. Lord Nazir said that Kashmiris must unite on one point agenda of “Right of Self-Determination” to form consensus amongst themselves for the sake of the sacrifices given by thousand of Kashmiris.

Other prominent people who spoke on this occasion included Vernon Coaker MP, Lilian Greenwood MP, Councilor Aslam JP, Councilor Gul Nawan, Maqsood Chaudry, Haji Rauf Khan, Khawaja Kabeer Ahmed, Sajjad Vasti and Ali Asghar.

The newly elected president of UK Zone Mahmood Hussain thanked the delegates for giving him the opportunity to serve the JKLF UK zone. He promised to organise the party effectively and work closely with other parties for the right of self-determination.
All the participants and speakers appreciated the manner in which this convention was held inline with the true democratic values and norms.

Khawaja Kabir Ahmed,
Information Secretary, JKLF UK Zone


Post a Comment

Quick Message
Press Esc to close
Copyright © 2013 Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front | JKLF All Right Reserved